“I am not Invisible“

My daughter asked for my help to gather art materials for a friend. Ana Urbieta is a social worker helping US veterans who are sheltering in temporary homes. Her advocacy is to help the homeless get psychological help for their depression and other emotional illnesses. Part of her work necessitates giving her clients an opportunity for self expression and access to creating art to heal.

Having two of my children serve the military forces, I quickly mobilized my friends to help. I simply posted Ana’s letter asking for support on my Facebook group on watercolor friends.

The response was overwhelming! Three ladies who are my friends gave me brushes, watercolor paper, tubes of both acrylic and watercolor paints. There were plastic palettes to put paints on, there were a sundry of supplies!

Ana Urbieta

When people respond to calls for helping, they truly want to extend their altruistic feelings.

John and Tarja brought canvasses, paints and brushes
Me and art supplies
Liquid watercolors and Canson papers from Jocelyn Reed Swanson
Kirstin Rounds brought books, magazines, paper and brushes
Watercolor brushes

Thank you to the wonderful people who responded to the call for gently used art supplies for the patients of Ana. I am grateful to be of service in any way shape and form, so that we can help those who are ailing.

Leave a comment