Art Retrospective 1971-1976

I never knew I could revisit my work from 40 years ago. Many years have passed since the art bug bit me, and it still has remained in my veins.

As a youth, my father would sit with me in his study while I played with his fountain pens. We would make squiggles and doodles together. He encouraged me to write legibly and do calligraphic strokes. He liked the Italic hand.

Studies on max gluteus, 1975
Running, 1974
Campanile, 1976

Many years later as an 18 year old, I would take formal lessons in Calligraphy with Mrs. Peggy Downs, a graphic artist at the Roseburg Senior High School District. In the evenings, she took me to Umpqua Community College to learn Bookhand, Italics and Roman styles of writing. I also learned Uncials, Batard and Old English.

Bookhand with serifs, 1974
There are 40 slides of work from the 70s. I was in college studying Psychology.
Penmanship requires a steady and willful hand, 1976

I have progressed to seriously taking watercolor classes on a regular basis now that I am retired. Looking back, my solid inclination to commit to drawing and sketching served me well. Practicing with observing forms and looking at details of scenery, portraiture and still life makes me a better painter.

I made a self portrait then, I looked at life with optimism and with a creative spirit.

Candy, 1976

Leave a comment